The de LaRochelles of St-Victoire, Quebec

I chose to do my project on the Larochelles because my dad once told me that we originally came from France and had been in Canada for more than 100 years, so this interested me. I was also interested to find out how my ancestors made a living in the 1800s and the early 1900s. I found out this information in the 1881 and 1901 census and in the BMS2000 database. 

1881 Census
In 1881 the French origin family of the Larochelles was living in Quebec as a household of 9 people. The family lived on a farm with four children. One of the children (Victor) was already working with his dad on the farm. According to the census, Israel was “en voyage”. I think maybe he was on vacation or maybe he was a merchant who was travelling. The children’s mom – Victoire Larochelle – didn’t have an official job. Maybe she stayed home to take care of six year old Jean Baptiste.

1901 Census

During the 1901 census the Larochelle family had grown even more than in 1881. The family still lived in the rural area of St-Victoire. In 1901 the Larochelles were still a farming family. I used to think that the head of the household, Victor, came from Europe but I later on found out on the 1901 census that he was born in Quebec.

larochellecensusdetail

1901 Canada Census, Ste-Victoire, Richelieu, Quebec

BMS2000 Database

I also now know from the BMS2000 database that Victor Larochelle and Victoria Peloquin got married on February 11th, 1890 in Ste. Victoire. Victoria’s name on the census is Larochelle because it was the custom for a wife to use her husband’s surname. Six years later Elise Larochelle was born. Elise was Victor and Victoria’s first child and then in 1901 Victoria gave birth to Charles. 

The de LaRochelle Name

I was very surprised when I was finding information because my surname (de la Rochelle) has changed many times. For instance, I found it listed as: Larochel, Larochelle and De Larochelle!

Sources: Coming Later This Week (post under construction)

Author: Eric

GEN TIP: Here are some reasons why surname spellings change. 1.Your ancestor – or the person filling out the document – was uneducated or unfamiliar with the name and made a mistake. 2. The name was changed so it would be easier to pronounce. 3. The name was translated. For instance, Meunier = Miller 4. Sometimes Quebec priests deliberately changed spellings to differentiate between two families. 

Related Posts:

Family History Portal

13 responses to “The de LaRochelles of St-Victoire, Quebec

  1. When I was researching my Theriault ancestors I had the same surname problems as you did. The different spellings included Tarrio and Therio and this week I even found Taryeo!
    Mrs.Theriault

  2. Wow I didn’t know your family has been in Canada for 100 years!I had no idea your family is originally from France.

  3. It must have been cool finding different ways to spell your last name. I didn’t know the reasons for having your surname spelt differently now i do and its very interesting.

  4. Your post is really good, I found it interesting because there were several ways to spell your last name. Really good article!

  5. The story about the LaRochelle is very interesting!

  6. I love this name changing like Larochel and Larochelle and by the way I am surprised that someone in your family is named Jean Baptiste.

  7. Very well written, article. Your family has been in Canada for a very long time! I thought it was very interesting how your surname was being changed throughout the years.

  8. I really liked your article and its really amazing how many times a name can change

  9. Cool article I never knew your family origin is French from France.

  10. Thats weird that your name changed alot over the years

  11. I found it interesting how your name changed.You did a good job with your article!

  12. Hi, I wonder if your ancestors talked with an accent because they came from France. I’m sure your name had different spelling.

  13. I did not know why surnames change and know now. Your project was interesting and well written and your artifact are is nice.

Leave a Reply

