My Lemieux Ancestors

I looked up my ancestors on the BMS2000 site. The BMS is a site where we can get marriage, birth and death records so we can find out, for instance, the year when people got married and who they got married with. It also tells the father’s and mother’s name. We can also find out where they got married and probably also lived. I knew my grandparents’ names (Andre Lemieux and Yolande Lefrancois) and from that I found my great grandparents names, their parents names etc.

lemieuxfront

lapointefront

Mortuary Cards

These are the mortuary cards of my great-grandparents Adelard Lemieux and Juliette Lapointe.

Mortuary cards are given to people who come to the funeral. They are used as something to remember a loving family member.

On mortuary cards we can find out when the person died, at what age they died and who they were married with. Some mortuary cards also have little messages to comfort the sad family members. Sometimes there are even appealing pictures, again to comfort the family members.

Artefacts: Mortuary Cards


Author: Jaques

GEN TIP: Mortuary cards are not official documents but they’re a great place to start when looking for death dates and approximate birth dates.

Related Link:

Mortuary Card from Mrs. Theriault’s Great-grandfather

Family History Portal

8 responses to “My Lemieux Ancestors

  1. I was so glad that you shared these cards with us. I’m sure your great-grandparents would be happy that you’re remembering them in this way.
    In a few days I’m going to post the mortuary card of one of my great-grandparents!
    Mrs.Theriault

  2. Those are cool cards.your great grand-pa was 89 when he died,

  3. I thought that the BMS2000 site is a really good resource to use for finding out thing about your ancestors. Your great-grandparents mortuary cards were great to show on this website. Keep up the good work.

  4. I think it is cool to have a page for your ancestors. I would like to have one too. Good pictures of them.

  5. i thought it was a good idea to put mortuary cards. Your article was very interesting!

  6. I think your project is very interesting and well written. I thought your artifacts are are very nice for your project.

  7. Interesting. I didn’t know that mortuary cards are not official documents.

  8. I found it very interesting with the mortuary cards.

Leave a Reply

